a lady does not drunk dial

09Mar10

The makings of a good drunk dial are simple: get in your cups, stay up late, keep your phone handy. I suppose I should also mention (for those fortunate enough to be unfamiliar) that the receiving end of a drunk dial tends to be a crush or ex. As Urban Dictionary so eloquently says, “The result is often embarrassment and self-loathing for being (a) overly emotional, (b) incoherent, or (c) creepy.”

Now, I like to think I am pretty self-regulated when it comes to drunk dials, but really, I just lack the energy. More often than not, if I’ve had a few, I fall asleep. Should I stay awake, chances are I’ve misplaced my phone (or just outright lost it).

I’m not saying I don’t think about it.

Just this past Saturday I bemusedly considered expanding the bounds of drunk dialing to Facebook and calling on my neighbor. What can I say? I’m a rebel. Who says a drunk dial has to be done on the phone or made to a recent or past love interest (Well, I guess I did, but that is neither here nor there. This is about breaking down barriers, people!)? Why not use your misery for everyone’s enjoyment by posting “I miss you!” to the wall of an ex’s grandmother (overly emotional)? Or, hell, walk up stairs and see if your neighbor wants to cuddle (creepy)?

I believe the only outcome I haven’t hit here is “incoherent.” Unless you count my reasoning.

When I just so happen to have my wits and phone about me? Let me take a moment to express how grateful I am for my friends. I mentioned before that some behavior is more ladylike than others, and I think my default drunk dial alternative fits the bill. Harassing your friends in the wee hours of the morning certainly does not come with a lady seal of approval, but desperate times . . .

Should you not want to bother your friends and have an iPhone, well, there’s an app for that. A few actually. And, though I can’t recommend it for a lady, you can also call toll-free to talk to the Internet.

One Response to “a lady does not drunk dial”


  1. 1 Friends don’t let friends drunk dial … or be an intern | Notes from the Intern

Leave a Reply

